All About Me and The Sweet Kitchen

I started my business called ‘the sweet kitchen’ in May 2009 and it has gone from strength to strength ever since. My inital idea was to concentrate on American-style home-baked goodies, such as cupcakes, layer cakes, cookies, cookie bars (brownies etc), puddings and pies, using all those ingredients I came to love whilst living in America. It has been very gratifying to see everyone being incredibly enthusiastic about my baking!

I make to order for the area roughly between St.Neots and Cambridge (west to east ) and Ely to Royston (north to south), but for a large order or wedding I may be prepared to travel further afield. I need an absolute minimum of 48 hours notice usually, just because I get busy and it can be difficult to slot you in at short notice. For weddings I suggest booking at least 6 months ahead to avoid disappointment and so we have plenty of time to plan your cakes. I make for all sorts of events such as birthdays, thank yous, anniversaries, weddings, christenings, hen parties, children’s parties etc.

I started this blog, so I could share my love of American baking, photos and recipes with all foodies out there. I’m not American, but lived in Northern California (just North of San Francisco) for 3 1/2 years, which is where I became really interested in all the delicious baked goods available there. I was also surprised that so many lovely things which are quite common in the USA were barely known here, such as Lemon Bars and Pecan Bars.

Occasionally I may blog about other things I like such as knitting, sewing, crafts, gardening etc, but in the main it’s about what I make in my kitchen. 

Born and brought up in Shropshire, I now live near Cambridge with my husband and two sons, who can never get enough cake (mainly because they all go out of the door!) . . My degree is in Modern Languages, but with hindsight I should have taken a more creative subject. I worked in Export Sales and spent several years travelling around Europe and beyond, so certainly ate very well on my travels and developed a taste for all good foods. I was a stay-at-home Mum for years before I decided to start this new venture. I decided I had to do something I loved doing and that fitted around family (as much as possible).

 I come from family of good bakers – mother, aunts, grandmothers, but my husband’s mother and aunt and my sister-in-law and her mother are or were all great bakers – must be in the genes on all sides!

FAQ’s:

1. What sort of piping tip do you use?

I use just one most of the time, but it came in a set I bought a few years ago and it has no name or number on it. It is a wide star-shaped tip made of stainless steel.

2. Do you give away your recipe for your frosting?

Sorry, I’m keeping it close to my chest…

3. Do you supply nationwide?

Sorry again. I just supply in the area surrounding Cambridge, roughly East to West St Neots to Cambridge and North to South Ely to Royston. I will go slightly further afield for larger orders or weddings.

4. How much notice do I need to give for an order?

Although I state 48 hours notice on the website, you will sometimes need to book weeks or even months ahead to guarantee a date. I am busy and often fully booked from Thursday to Saturday, so it’s definitely best to give me as much notice as possible. That said, it’s always worth phoning to see if I can fit you in! I only do one wedding per weekend, so for that kind of event, you will need to contact me months ahead of time.

8 thoughts on “All About Me and The Sweet Kitchen

  1. So glad to find your site! It seems we’re on similar paths. Will enjoy nosing around your site.

    I am a career musician and voice teacher, but have many, many interests which pull at me here, there and everywhere.

    Cooking and baking are not among my lists of talents, although I am married to someone who loves to cook when he can.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Cate

  2. Helen! You are AMAZING!!!!!!! I LOVED looking at your site – such beautiful and delicious looking items – LOVE your packaging! When are you going to expand your business to the US? Specifically California – specifically NORTHERN California?!! I could use half a dozen of those cookie mixes for Christmas prezzies right now!! 🙂

    WOW! You are SO talented and everything just looks absolutely beautiful! I wish you just the best of luck with everything you are doing!

    This is really great and I LOVE seeing all of your beautiful items!

    Sincerely,
    Adrienne

  3. Very inspiring. Will surely try your cupcakes for my daughters’ birthday.
    French myself , mothers of two, photographer, foodie and really really loves french patisserie but must agree that american cupcakes are such a treat !

  4. I have just found your site and love looking at your beautiful cakes and reading your blog.
    I love cooking and making cakes but only for the family.
    I love the small roses you put on your cupcakes could you tell me how to make them.
    Thankyou,
    Annette

    1. Thanks for your nice comments – I do appreciate them! I use a silicon mould to make the roses – you should be able to find them on the internet.

  5. I have looked for the silicone moulds for roses there are so many different ones.Yours look so lovely could you please tell me what make mould you use?
    Thankyou,
    Annette

Leave a Reply

