Chocolate Layer Cake

Chocolate Layer Cake
Chocolate Layer Cake
I must admit to not having done much baking in the past week or so, due a cold which has dragged on and on. Still, I made this chocolate layer cake and photographed it for the website. I don’t know why, but every layer cake I have made so far has had to go out the door quickly and I haven’t got round to snapping any of them for the website. 
 
Plans for this week include making some sample cupcakes for a bride-to-be to include the colours of her flowers (fuchsia and lime) and making some sample wedding cupcakes for the website. A big part of the attraction of making one-off orders is the creative input I can have. Churning out the same thing day after day is not really my thing! A new challenge always sparks my interest.
 
Time is whizzing by this Autumn – my son reminded me there are only 3 weeks until half-term and then we will really be on the countdown to Christmas. Then I will have the usual dilemma of not knowing what to buy for those difficult to please people, wanting to spread the cost, but not knowing what to buy in October, because no-one else seems to be thinking about it! I wish everyone lived close enough for me to give them something edible!
 
I am off to the Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Place this weekend – the temptation to spend will be over-whelming, I know. In preparation, I have had a sort-out of all my yarns and, somewhat embarrassingly, I find I must have at least 40 balls of DK, luckily in toning colours, so I am going to try and stash-bust by knitting a simple garter stitch throw for the living room in duck egg blues, teal, brown, fawn, cream and pink. Let’s see if I can actually finish this one…
Leave a Reply

