Homemade Christmas Mincemeat

I have decided that this year I really need to get ahead of the game and be very organised well before Christmas. I am merrily taking orders for Christmas Fruit Cakes and cupcakes, without always thinking about making my own Christmas happen! So I thought I’d better make sure that everything was made ahead of time as far as possible, starting with a homemade mincemeat. You could say, I could save myself time by buying it, but as I am not a big fan of shop-bought mincemeat, I thought I’d have a go at making my own to see if it’s better. I used the Lotte Duncan recipe off the BBC Food website, as I liked the sound of the ingredients: raisins, sultanas, currants, mixed peel, prunes, soft brown sugar, cooking apples, suet, oranges and lemons, almonds, pecan nuts, mixed spice, nutmeg and brandy. It has to mature for a couple of weeks before use, so when I have tested it I will let you know if it is worth making or not. There is another recipe on that website for a very boozy mincemeat which also sounds good – maybe another day…

Leave a Reply

