Chocolate and More Chocolate

If you could only see how much chocolate I am getting through at the moment! Today I have made a chocolate layer cake, 12 chocolate cupcakes and double batches of Fudgy Brownies and Rocky Road. The day did not get off to a good start as someone had fiddled with my alarm clock and we were late getting up – I had just 20 minutes to get the first child out of the door to catch the school bus. In that first hour I managed to cram in a huge amount, including getting one layer cake in the oven.

Chocolate Layer Cake
Chocolate Cupcakes

I was really keen not to miss my Pilates class today, but that meant I had to make at least one cake before I went. Luckily, it all got done in the end. I have spent an inordinate amount of time trying to find liquorice laces to make some train tracks for a cake, as all the supermarkets seem to move all the usual sweets out of the way to make room for the Christmas stuff. Anyway, on my third or fourth attempt at different shops, I eventually found some today!

Tomorrow is a day of baking and packaging items to take to the Christmas Shopping Evening held by Papworth Trust at the Jubilee Hall in Eaton Socon.  I have decided to take lots of cookie mixes, a Christmas Cake, Brownies and Rocky Road and 12 cupcakes in a gift box to show the type of cakes you can order. I am also going to have lots of cakes to taste tomorrow – I don’t know why I haven’t thought of doing that before!

Leave a Reply

