Good Old Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcake with Vanilla Frosting

How ever many flavours you put on offer, a large proportion of people still choose good old-fashioned vanilla cake and why not? I use Nielsen-Massey vanilla extract and all the best ingredients, such as unsalted butter and free range eggs. The flavours of these good ingredients shine through when the ingredients are kept simple. It also has to be said they lend themselves easily to all types of colours and toppings, whereas not everything goes with chocolate or coffee frosting, for instance. 

Vanilla Cupcakes

I’m pleased to say that most of my Valentine’s Day/Easter order has turned up today, although I’m not completely happy with everything. The red and white heart sprinkles are definitely a shade of pink, not red! I will have to decide whether to use them or not, when I make up my samples. Hopefully I will get round to doing that tomorrow, all being well. I will be busy baking for orders on Saturday, so tomorrow is my chance to get it done. 

I went back to Pilates after the Christmas break today and feel like I really strained the few abs I have left! A good excuse to take it easy tonight…

Leave a Reply

