Questions & Answers

Sometimes I am asked for my opinion or ideas on baking and I am happy to help if I can. I am going to try to include these questions and my replies under the Questions & Answers section, in case they are of use to anyone else out there.

Question About Mudcakes

Hi there, I love all your cupcakes, they are gorgeous!!
I am baking some mudcake cupcakes for my mother-in-laws 70th birthday (they will be served as dessert) and would like to ask your recommendation of what icing/buttercream would not be too rich with the mudcake. I intend piping it on. Thanks for your time, kind regards Lisa (from Australia)

Hi Lisa
I’ve had a look at my recipe books and generally speaking they have a rich topping with a mudcake, so Dark Chocolate Ganache with Chocolate Curls on a Dark Chocolate Mudcake or a White Chocolate Ganache on a White Chocolate Mudcake. If it was me, I might go for something more tangy like mascarpone with grated orange rind in it, a whipped cream with orange rind & Cointreau or a Passionfruit or Orange Curd. You could pretty it up with a chocolate curl or some edible glitter! With a white chocolate mudcake you could go for a mascarpone or cream with raspberries, Framboise liqueur or fresh strawberries, maybe again with a sprinkle of glitter. Hope these ideas are useful to you.
Regards
Helen

4 thoughts on “Questions & Answers

  1. Forgot to ask Helen, would you be so kind as to share your ganache icing that is suitable to pipe onto my mudcake cupcakes pretty please 🙂 Thanks Lisa

    1. Sorry, I forgot to answer this straight away! Ganache is very simple: you need 400g dark chocolate (broken into small pieces) and 375ml whipping cream. Heat the cream in a non-stick pan until at simmering point. Add the chocolate to the cream and leave to stand for a couple of minutes, then stir gently until the chocolate is melted and thoroughly combined with the cream. If coating a cake, pour over straight away and leave to set. If you want to pipe it, it’s trickier, as you have to leave it to cool and thicken to a point where it will hold its shape, but not so stiff that you can’t pipe it. It might be a question of watching carefully. At room temp it takes quite a long time to set enough. You can pop it in the fridge, but you have to keep watching or it will suddunly seize and go too stiff to pipe! Good luck and I hope you are successful with the cakes!

  2. I LOVE your website and your products! Amazing! I live in the U.S. and I have been trying to find a silicone mold to make roses like yours. Do you mind telling me where I can order one from? Your roses are amazing and it IS quite tedious making them by hand!!

    1. Mine is from Squires Kitchen in the UK. You would have to check on their website whether they post to the USA, as I’m not sure. Hope you manage to get one!

Leave a Reply

