Gluten-Free Lemon Drizzle Cake – I don’t think so…

I have had a few requests for gluten and wheat-free cakes recently, but as yet I don’t have them listed on my website, as I in the process of developing a new range. However, I have a deadline approaching  for a Lemon Drizzle Cake, which needs to be wheat-free. Out of interest, I thought I’d try a rather off-the-wall recipe at home, which included ground almonds and mashed potato of all things! The recipe came from the BBC Good Food website, but I have to say although it looked really nice when made, albeit with a slight dip the middle, the taste was disappointing to say the least. The blurb said you would never know there was mash in it. Well, I’m afraid that’s not quite true! I could taste it and feel the texture of the potato when it was eaten -yuk! In fact, I felt quite queasy after eating it! Sometimes I do wonder how recipes get on to the internet…. Anyway, my next trials  will involve using Dove Farm gluten-free and wheat-free self-raising flour, so I hope for much better results.

Gluten-Free Lemon Drizzle Cake
Leave a Reply

