Gluten Free Lemon Drizzle Cake – Take Two Is A Success!

Finally, I got round to having another go at the Lemon Drizzle Cake today. After dispelling the idea of cakes made with weird ingredients very quickly, this time I have tested my usual Lemon Drizzle recipe made with a gluten and wheat free flour and it seems to have worked very well. It doesn’t make a huge cake (this one is 7″), so maybe I will adjust the quantities upwards. I’m trying to get it to cool down quickly, so I can taste it and see how it eats! I used Doves Farm Gluten Free Self Raising Flour, which surprised me by looking very much like normal flour. I don’t know why, but I thought the colour might have been slightly darker, seeing as it is made from rice, potato, tapioca, maize and buckwheat. It will be interesting to see if it tastes different to normal flour, although the Doves Farm website says people very often can’t taste the difference. I will add my comments on taste later! 

Gluten Free Lemon Drizzle Cake

 Later: 

Wow! I’m really impressed with this, even if I do say so myself. The sponge is light, buttery, moist with a lovely lemony tang and crunch from the drizzle on top. It’s definitely a keeper and I will be working out a price and loading it on the website very shortly. I think it’s good to know that if you are allergic to gluten or wheat, you can still have a cake that really tastes like a ‘proper’ (for want of a better word) cake and not feel like you have to miss out. Commercially made cakes can never live up to those produced at home, so I’m very pleased to be able to add this to my range. Of course, I do keep products containing gluten and flour in my kitchen and although I do keep these gluten-free flours and baking powders sealed in a separate container, I do still have to declare that my cakes are produced in a kitchen where products with gluten and wheat are stored. I hope allergy-sufferers will consider trying this cake. I could also make Lemon Drizzle Cupcakes, if preferred.

Leave a Reply

