Springtime Retro Cupcakes in The Cambridgeshire Journal!

‘The Cambridgeshire Journal’ visited me at home to-day to interview me about ‘the sweet kitchen’ and take lots of photos, so it’s been an exciting day! They requested cupcakes in pretty Spring colours. I think they have turned out rather well and those yellow, mauve and bright pink roses add a real vintage touch. I set up a table using vintage pressed glass and modern glass cake stands, a vintage embroidered cloth, pretty napkins, a posy of Spring flowers and a retro-looking tea cosy.

Kate , my-sister-in-law, lent me a lovely old embroidered tablecloth and check napkins in pink and mauve, which set everything off very well. Considering  I only collected the parcel of cloths from the Post Office yesterday, it’s amazing how all the colours matched so well! Her business, called Lavender Sugar in Farnham, Surrey, offers an afternoon tea service. They bring all the tablecloths, china and afternoon tea and set it up for you. Their website is coming soon…

 

It took me rather a long time to get used to having my photo taken – I am not that happy in front of a camera, so I hope the photographer managed to get some good ones of me and the cupcakes! Well, at least the cupcakes are photogenic!Look out for the April issue of The Cambridgeshire Journal on sale 1st April to read all about it!

Leave a Reply

