April Newsletter from the sweet kitchen

I thought it might be a good idea to publish my newsletter on my blog, so that if you are browsing and haven’t yet signed up for my newsletter by email, you can still see what’s happening in the sweet kitchen!

April 2010 Newsletter:

 March has been such a busy month for me. The month has gone by in a flash! I am sending this newsletter out a little early, just in case anyone wants to buy a copy of the magazine mentioned below…

Press Coverage

Please look out for a fantastic article on the sweet kitchen in the April issue of The Cambridgeshire Journal! I was lucky enough to be interviewed and photographed by them in March. They came to visit me at my house and I had made some pastel coloured cupcakes with Spring flowers and roses. They looked so pretty set up on vintage and modern glass cake stands and a vintage embroidered cloth – see my photos on my blog and the professional ones in the issue due out on 1st April – I can’t wait to see it! All of my family want copies too, so I will be clearing the shelves when I go shopping!

 

I also had details of my Easter cupcakes included in the March issue of East – the article was just below an article on Jamie Oliver’s new restaurant in Cambridge, so I’m keeping good company!

The phone has been ringing off the hook this month with orders from new customers, people who’ve bought before and people who have eaten my cakes at a party and then want to order for themselves. The proof of the pudding is in the eating, they say…

Large Orders and Weddings

I am taking more and more orders for weddings, christenings and large parties. I have a 7 tiered stand which can be hired out and really shows off the cupcakes (or brownies and cookies) off to the best effect. See my blog for a photo of the stand all piled up with cupcakes and brownies. I baked cakes for a 65th birthday in March for a fisherman – the cupcakes were decorated with sparkly fish and fishing tackle! Taking all these orders does mean that a lot of weekends are getting booked up, so if you know you want to order for a special event at a weekend, I would urge you to book the date, even if you don’t know exactly what you want yet.

New Products

The Mini Cupcakes are going like hot cakes – they look so sweet in the presentation box and make a cost-effective way of catering for larger numbers. Again, see my blog for the latest ones which have gone out with colourful Spring flowers.

Whoopie Pies – the next big thing!

The Whoopie Pie consists of two sponge-like cookies sandwiched together with a frosting. They are flying out of bakeries Stateside and are rumoured to be the next big thing after cupcakes! You can choose from:

Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Peanut Butter Frosting

 Red Velvet Whoopie Pies with Vanilla Frosting or Cream Cheese Frosting

 Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Cinnamon Frosting

 Lemon Whoopie Pies with Lemon Frosting

 Raspberry Whoopie Pies with Raspberry Frosting.

 All flavours are £14.95 for 12.

 Why not give them a try and be a trend-setter?

 Large Layer Cakes

 I am often asked for large cakes which can feed more people than my standard 8 inch layer cakes, so now all of my layer cakes are available in a 10″ size – enough to feed 20 people. Orders are priced individually, so please contact me for a quote.

 April Specials

The flavour of the month continues to be Coconut Cupcakes with Seven Minute Frosting. You can also still order the Easter cupcakes without the Easter decorations: Vanilla Buttermilk or Chocolate Buttermilk. Once Easter has gone, they will be delivered with Spring flowers on the top.
 

Price Increase

 There will be a price increase coming into effect at the end of April 2010. I will have been trading for a year by then, and during that time I have absorbed price increases in ingredients, necessary supplies, fuel etc, but I’m afraid the time has come to raise prices. Please be assured that I do my best to make sure prices are as competitive as they can be. If you shop around, you’ll see that my products are very competitively priced.

Leave a Reply

