News from the sweet kitchen

I’ve just spent the past 4 hours updating the website and loading new photos to almost every page. The Wedding and Christening pages will be updated later today as well.

The Autumn specials are now available. I sent out the newsletter today as well, so here is a copy for anyone not on the mailing list. You can sign up by going to www.thesweetkitchen.co.uk and signing up on the Contact page.

September News:

 Although it’s still summer out there, I have been working on special cupcake flavours for the Autumn months of September and October. I have gone for warm and comforting flavours for when the days turn dark and chilly!

Specials for September and October:

Spiced Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Frosting: they will come in a mix of brown, orange and white cases and will be decorated with handmade mini pumpkins, autumn leaf sprinkles and flowers in Autumnal colours. As we go towards Halloween, they can have ‘Fright Mix’ or ‘Pumpkin’ Sprinkles, as well as purple, black and orange cases.
The sponge is very light and fluffy, made with pumpkin puree  and generously spiced with ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. The frosting is lightly spiced with cinnamon and together they make a very more-ish mouthful! Well, we certainly got through quite a lot when I made the samples…
12 x Cupcakes £16.99 or 24 Mini Cupcakes £18.99

 

Gingerbread Cupcakes with Lemon Icing: the gingerbread cupcake is a new one and different to the Fresh Ginger and Molasses cupcake on the website. It will be more like a traditional, sticky gingerbread, but still light. The lemon icing adds a fresh and zingy contrast to the ginger.
12 x Cupcakes £16.99 or 24 x Mini Cupcakes £18.99

Maple Syrup Cupcakes with Maple Frosting: the maple syrup cupcakes are always very popular when I make them, although I will have to charge extra this year, as maple syrup has gone up so much in price. They are bit like a sticky gingerbread in texture, but obviously flavoured with lots of maple syrup and they have a frosting flavoured with pure maple extract and maple syrup. They are decorated with marbled maple leaves.
12 x Cupcakes £19.99 or 24 x Mini Cupcakes £21.99

Take a look at the Monthly Specials page on my website or for more photos, look at the blog:

https://fromthesweetkitchen.wordpress.com/

All cupcakes can be decorated however you wish – the decorations mentioned above are the standard ones, but you can add in anything you like.

I am not making any specific cakes for Halloween, as I am already fairly well booked up around 31st October, but any of the above flavours would be good and I have Halloween sprinkles which could be used.

the sweet kitchen in Style magazine

Look out for the September issue of Style, the glossy city magazine in Cambridge, as my Red Velvet Cupcakes will be making an appearance in there. They were sent into the magazine for a tasting session. I haven’t seen it myself yet, so I look forward to the review.

 

 As the children go back to school and we head into the Autumn, I have numerous weddings and parties booked in and I will be working on planning Christmas cakes and cupcakes – more of that in the next email!

As I write this, I am still having problems accessing Facebook, so I don’t actually know if my blog posts are being fed through to Facebook or not… If anyone has contacted me via Facebook and not had a reply, please contact me via the website.

Don’t forget that I do like to feature photos on my blog of many of the orders which go out and I do like to include any feedback and comments, so do let me know what you thought of your order. Many people love to trawl through all the photos to look for inspiration for their order.

Leave a Reply

