Dark Chocolate Ganache Layer Cake

A slice of this would REALLY hit the mark at the moment – unfortunately I must resist. Not only because it’s in the fridge waiting to be collected, but I’m really trying to be good…

Very difficult for me to resist the sweet stuff.

This is a 10″ dark chocolate sponge made a bit deeper than usual with an unsweetened dark chocolate ganache for a sophisticated young lady’s 18th birthday.

I have to admit to having made a little extra ganache, which I have made into 6 chocolate truffles rolled in Green and Black’s Organic Cocoa. No sugar, but a very good chocolate hit. And it is Mother’s Day tomorrow, after all!

Apparently, I am being taken for afternoon tea at The George at Buckden tomorrow, where I intend to indulge to the full!

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Ganache Layer Cake

  1. Hi
    I have been admiring your site! Your pictures look great, very inspiring.

    I am currently dipping my toe into the world of cupcake / cake decorating, mainly for friends and family so I am constantly experimenting. I was looking at your cupcake cases and I was wondering if you could let me know if you have a recommended supplier where you purchase them from? Sometimes I find that the ones I use can go a bit ‘see-through’ once the cakes come out of the oven.

    Thanks in advance!

    Regards,

    Liz

    1. The world of paper cases is a minefield! So many different sizes and qualities. However, I do like Culpitt cases. Their colour palette is a bit limited, although ever-expanding. Wilton cases seem good (the ones I’ve tried so far). Cakes Cookies and Crafts have a good website, although they sell all different makes of cases, some very good, some not so good (in my opinion). Squires are good, but not very tall – it depends on the look you are after. I find a lot of the supermarket cases go see-through. Even some of the expensive ones do, so it’s a bit of trial and error, I’m afraid! The supplier of the plain, brightly coloured cases I was using seems to have gone bust and I haven’t found an alternative supplier of those yet. They were the best cases, but an awful supplier, so I’m not going to recommend them. If I had limitless time and energy I’d set up my own cupcake case company and wipe the floor with them all (says she modestly!)…

Leave a Reply

