Aubergine and Cream Wedding Cake

I don’t normally make tiered cakes – I usually confine myself to a top cake for a cupcake tower. However, seeing as it was for someone I know, whose daughter’s reception was at Childerley Hall…

The base cake was a 9″ and the top cake a 6″ fruit cake covered with marzipan and ‘Celebration’ sugar paste.

Now, I don’t normally go in for complicated flower making – I don’t have the expertise in that area. However I felt a wedding cake deserved something different to my usual flowers, so I had a go at making these.

The instructions I followed were for single roses, but I seem to have invented my own flower here, a bit tulip-like and bit rose-like with a hint of hellebore, I think! Still, I quite liked them and I did have a fallback of standard cream roses, but I decided to go with these. The edges were brushed with aubergine lustre.

The bridemaids dresses were in the deep aubergine colour and the flowers were all cream and aubergine, so I hope it toned in well. I used a satin ribbon over an organza ribbon on each cake.

 

Leave a Reply

