Chocolate and Beetroot Cupcakes

I have been asked to do a wedding in Cambridge in the summer. All the food at the wedding will be organic and healthy and they would like their cupcake tower to reflect that. I am currently experimenting to come up with three recipes which they will be happy with. My first try-out was today -: Chocolate and Beetroot Cupcakes:

I have to say I am a total convert and would prefer this to a normal cupcake now! While you can’t say that they are exactly good for you, they contain no butter, very little wholemeal flour and a tiny bit of oil. However they do contain chocolate and dark muscavado sugar – I’m haven’t convinced myself yet that I can get rid of the sugar, but I am going to try the recipe out using stevia to replace some of the sugar. I’m not sure it will work, because the sugar seems to supply most of the structure in this recipe, but I will give it a go and see if it works!

The cake is like a very light brownie – moreish, dark and very chocolatey. You don’t seem to taste the beetroot at all.. The topping consists mainly of chocolate with honey, vanilla and coffee.

Here’s a photo of the inside – I think you can see how light it is. The weather is not great for photos – winter has returned today and the rain has now turned to snow!

Trouble is, I am on a diet and now these lovely little cupcakes are tempting me. I can resist normal cupcakes easily, but anything new is always a bit trickier!

I will let you know how I get on with the other recipes and with the stevia. Once I am happy with all of them, I will add them to the website.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate and Beetroot Cupcakes

  1. Thanks – i just took a look at your blog. I’m loving all these afternoon tea and tearoom blogs – a very good idea!

Leave a Reply

