Pink and Sparkly Christening Cupcakes

These were made for a baby girl’s christening in Cambridge at the weekend. Everything in shades of pink and white.

Vanilla cupcakes with palest pink vanilla frosting and pink roses.

Chocolate cupcakes with pale pink daisies

Vanilla and chocolate mini cupcakes in pale pink cases with blossoms in various shades of pink and white.

Chocolate cupcakes with white daisies.

 And finally lemon cupcakes with pale pink rosebuds.

All of the large cupcakes were in pink and white dotty cases.

The client said:

“Just to say thanks so much for the cupcakes. They looked stunning and got many admirers!! They tasted absolutely fantastic too!”

They set up the stand themselves, so I don’t have a photo of the finished stand, however I can imagine it looked very pretty indeed. 

15 thoughts on “Pink and Sparkly Christening Cupcakes

  1. I do make them by hand, They are perhaps more of an impression of a rosebud than a true life-like one! I find you can spend an awful lot of time making roses etc, but at the end of the day, they are going to be gobbled up! Spending hours on the decorations makes the cupcakes prohibitively expensive and I like to keep prices reasonable! I use rose petal cutters and mould the petals around an inner cone of sugarpaste.

    1. I use a silicon mould from Squires Kitchen in the UK. I think they do post internationally, if you want to order one. I make up a sugar paste using CMC (Tylo powder) to firm it up, or I use a flower paste. Normal sugar paste is too soft to use in the mould. It takes a bit of practice, but you can soon pop them out quite quickly!

      1. Thank you so much for your reply! What are the ingredients to the pastes you use? I am only a beginner at the moment but am hoping to one day in the future own a cake/cupcake decorating business. I have purchased renshaws regalice, would that work?

  2. Regalice is fine. You need to go to your local cake decorating shop and ask for CMC which is kneaded into the sugarpaste to firm it up. The shop will tell you how to use it. Or you can buy flower paste eg Squires, which is more expensive and dries hard, but I find it better for thinner petaled flowers. Hope this helps -remember practice makes perfect!

    1. Thanks again you’re a great help. I’ve just looked through the post again though and realised I said ‘flatter’ roses, I actually meant the ones in the first picture!

  3. I ADORE these…especially the flat fuchsia roses on the buttercream!
    May I please ask which piping tip/nozzle you used to make your swirl? It’s beautiful!

    1. My piping nozzle doesn’t have a number on it, unfortunately, but it’s stainless steel and like an open star.

Leave a Reply

