Needlecraft Cake

This vintage-style cake was made for a lady who loves sewing, knitting, crochet, patchwork and all needlecrafts!

1DSC_7655adj

I do fight shy of novelty cakes normally, but as I am very partial to all needlecrafts myself, I thought I would like to have a go at this one. I made a large spool of thread and a pincushion and used some stiff paper straws, ribbon and toning papers to make the bunting. I should say that the pins had to be removed before cutting and were there purely as decoration…1DSC_7656adj

I already had some button moulds, but found a new one with more intricate designs from Karen Davies http://www.karendaviescakes.co.uk. The pearlised spray I used highlighted the button designs even more.

1DSC_7657adj

The same company also had a mould which makes crocheted flowers and leaves – how clever! Again the spray really picked up the detail. The tiny silver balls in the centre of the flowers picked up the silver scissors too.

1DSC_7661adj

The customer was thrilled to bits with it and I think I might make one for my own birthday!

Leave a Reply

